Level 4 Award in Internal Quality Assurance (IQA)

Develop skills, knowledge and understanding to enable learners to perform the role of an internal quality assurer to assure assessors and assessment.

Location: Online

Level 4 Award in Internal Quality Assurance (IQA)

The Qualification

Who requires this qualification?
This online qualification is suitable for you if you wish to obtain the internal verifier / moderator role and quality assure assessors and assessment. The Level 4 Award is a 12 credit and 90 guided learning hour qualification consisting of 2 mandatory units. This will allow you to undertake IQA activities and monitor the assessments carried out internally by others.

You’ll learn different techniques and put your skills into practice, helping improve the standards of your company or organisation.


Entry requirements

  • Be competent in your field, the subject your want to assess
  • Level 2 written and spoken English (Equivalent to GCSE A-C)
  • IT literate (Internet, Microsoft office)
  • Able to understand and interpret course materials
  • Self-motivated and willing to complete and achieve
  • Basic understanding of quality assurance
  • Be working within an IQA capacity
  • Have access to a qualified IQA who can provide an expert witness statement on your role as an trainee IQA

This qualification is required for

Verifiers involved in National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) for the next three years.
Those who deliver these qualifications will need to be qualified to meet the requirements of the NVQ Code of Practice and Sector Skills Councils assessment strategies.
Quality assurance staff who deliver QCF qualifications that use the term ‘NVQ’ in their title will also need these qualifications.
Some staff, who are quality assuring qualifications within the QCF framework that do not use the term ‘NVQ’ in their titles, but whose purpose is to confirm occupational competence, will need to hold this IQA qualification.
This qualification will be helpful for teachers in schools who deliver vocational qualifications with applied learning, such as BTEC Firsts and Nationals.

Course structure

Unit 1: Understanding Principles and Practices of Internally Assuring the Quality of Assessment which provides the opportunity to relate underpinning knowledge and understanding to practice of internal quality assurance. Sharing knowledge and experience with peers and colleagues provides an opportunity both to share good practice and to reflect on assessment approaches.

Unit 2: This unit will give you the opportunity to apply the principles and requirements of internal quality assurance to a real working context and identify ways in which to develop and improve your practice.
Assessment should focus on real work activities so that naturally occurring evidence can be assessed.

tquk qualifications


Progression and further learning routes could include:

• Level 4 Award In Understanding the External Quality Assurance (EQA) of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
• Level 4 Award In Leading Internal Quality Assurance (IQA)


Assessment should focus on real work activities so that naturally occurring evidence can be assessed.
The range of direct evidence MUST include:

  • monitoring of a minimum of TWO assessors
  • assessment of a minimum of TWO candidates per assessor
  • observation of practice
  • examination of products of work
  • questioning

    These can be supplemented, where necessary, with professional discussion, reflective accounts or witness statements.
Scroll to Top